Thursday, June 19, 2008


These are always hard for me but in hindsight, I need to get away from hands like this in this situation...

6max 2-4NL
Seat 1: booyahkashah ($190.40) <--- BB
Seat 2: PIKAPIKACHU ($833)
Seat 3: glenmorangie88 ($1,087.40)
Seat 4: MagicBeT ($150.70)
Seat 5: uffameg ($843.70)
Seat 6: RecessRampage ($542) <--- SB

*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to RecessRampage [Ad Qs]
glenmorangie88 folds
MagicBeT folds
uffameg raises to $14 <--- from the button
RecessRampage raises to $46
booyahkashah has 15 seconds left to act
booyahkashah folds
uffameg has 15 seconds left to act
uffameg calls $32

*** FLOP *** [Qc Ac Jc]
booyahkashah has returned
RecessRampage bets $70
uffameg has 15 seconds left to act
uffameg raises to $140
RecessRampage has 15 seconds left to act
RecessRampage calls $70

Ok, this is where it gets interesting. I repop it preflop with AQ which is standard at a 6 max table and I flop top 2. I bet out and then I get minraised. I didn't know what to make of that minraise so I called, wondering if the villain flopped a set (with like JJ) or if he somehow flopped a flush or a straight. Or was he just making a play. At the time, I also thought maybe he had AK with Kc but based on the preflop action, I can probably safely rule out AK here. It's so much easier to say that now when I'm not in the hand and the timer is not staring back at you.

Should I be in a check/call mode here? Does anyone fold to that minraise here? Folding here I think would be a mistake... but I'm not sure.

*** TURN *** [Qc Ac Jc] [6d]
RecessRampage checks
uffameg has 15 seconds left to act
uffameg bets $376
RecessRampage has 15 seconds left to act
RecessRampage has requested TIME

What would you do? I really took my time here but I thought he could have a flush, a set, or he could have AKc (again, I think I can rule that out now but at the time, that's what I thought) or AJ (I honestly thought this was a real possibility).

RecessRampage calls $356, and is all in
uffameg shows [Tc 9c] <--- doh!
RecessRampage shows [Ad Qs]
Uncalled bet of $20 returned to uffameg

*** RIVER *** [Qc Ac Jc 6d] [5c]
uffameg shows a flush, Ace high
RecessRampage shows two pair, Aces and Queens
uffameg wins the pot ($1,085) with a flush, Ace high
RecessRampage adds $400

I really think on the turn, I needed to get away from the hand. There were a lot of indicators that made me think I was beat and yet I couldn't find the fold button. I think I'm starting to play well again but I HAVE TO plug leaks like this.


pokerpeaker said...

I know you think I'm a nitty, weak-tight, soft, anti-aggro, squishy poker player, but I fold to the turn there and I might even fold to the raise.

Here's why:
1. There are straights and flushes out there, and I hate to get into a huge pot here with an all-flush board and a straight to boot.
2. Big hand, big pot, small hand, small pot, medium hand (as you have), medium pot.
You'd be amazed at how often I can get away from hands by repeating this mantra. Sure, I miss out on some pots that way, but I also don't stack off that way too.
3. You're OOP. That alone might be a reason to fold to the raise.
4. It's a min-raise. Min-raises always, or at least more often than not, it seems to me, scream big hands. I might call a bigger raise here or an all-in, but a min raise scares me.
In fact, Im more likely to call an all in here than I am a min-raise (despite me saying small hand, small pot, etc.)
5. You're calling, and that's tough to do. I'd much rather be the one shoving.

I play lower levels, and the betting is much more predictable, and I'd have to change my style somewhat at these levels, especially 6-max, or I'd get pushed off of too many hands.

But you know all this. That's why you make $50,000 a year and I'm happy with $3,000.

jjok said...

2 pair is my deathhand often because they look sooooo gooooooooot.

So much beats you, I agree with your assessment. And you are 10 times the thinker that I am.....because I'll call that off far too many times without thinking much about my opponent.

It's not really a leak though, imo. Just kind of a cooler.....

Fuel55 said...

two pr blows in this spot.

かず said...


Alan aka RecessRampage said...

Peaker, I totally agree with you, actually. I wanted to post this to show my mistake because when I write it out, it helps me think about it more. I don't think I'm good enough to fold to the minraise because if I do catch one of my 4 outs, I'm the one stacking him. However, I think the turn bet was where I should have folded.

SirFWALGMan said...

You suck I can not wait to have the roll to play you every day BWAHAHAHAHA! heh.

Alan aka RecessRampage said...

Me too, waffles!!!