Saturday, August 4, 2007

Learn From My Mistakes (Part 1)

I've been trying to accumulate some of the hands that I played poorly in order to highlight my mistakes and share them with you. Hopefully, you may gain something. If not, maybe you could just get a good laugh. But either way, I intend to start a mini series here where I will post some of the hands where I made a mistake and put in my thoughts, where applicable. Oh, and when I say "trying to accumulate", it's not because they are few and far between. I'm just trying to sift through all the bad ones and pick the ones that may actually be beneficial.

Ok, below is an instance where if you have a decent hand, you HAVE TO ISOLATE the short stack all in. Money not won is the same as money lost. In other words, when you have the edge or the better hand, you have to bet and protect it. No way around that. Here's an instance where I totally missed that.

Full Tilt Poker Game #3151345352: Table Russell (6 max) - $1/$2 - No Limit Hold'em - 14:31:08 ET - 2007/08/04
Seat 1: Nathan Petrelli ($210.15)
Seat 2: kdogvet ($31.05)
Seat 3: pokerPIMP_5 ($223.70)
Seat 5: Imperatorce ($203.45)
Seat 6: RecessRampage ($253.95)
Nathan Petrelli posts the small blind of $1
kdogvet posts the big blind of $2
The button is in seat #6
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to RecessRampage [Ts Td]
pokerPIMP_5 folds
Imperatorce raises to $7
RecessRampage calls $7
Nathan Petrelli folds
kdogvet raises to $31.05, and is all in
Imperatorce has 15 seconds left to act
Imperatorce calls $24.05
RecessRampage calls $24.05

The game is 5 handed, as you can see. Pocket 10s in a 5 handed game is a monster holding and one that is most likely ahead. I might reraise a few times there on the initial raise by imperatorce but that's just a variation. I've been at this table for a little while at this point so they've seen me reraise when in position and not many hands go to showdown so again, that's just me switching it up.

When the short stack goes all in on top, imperatorce just calls. And for some reason, I think I didn't have an option to reraise there. I could be wrong but I think I was forced to call. Like the reraise option wasn't there? I think that's actually some sort of a rule but again, not sure. Please confirm if you know.

*** FLOP *** [6h 7s Js]
Imperatorce has 15 seconds left to act
Imperatorce checks
nonthinking sits down
RecessRampage checks <--- HEEEEE HAAAAAW

I'm sure all of you could see what the big blunder here is. My pocket 10s are very good on a jack high flop. This isn't some tournament bubble in a satellite where knocking out one player means anything. This is a cash game. At this point, I need to bet out to isolate the shortstack. I think this is obvious to everyone. But if not, here's why.

If the shortstack has AA, KK, QQ, or JJ, I was already beat before the flop and unless I get lucky, I'm not gonna win the main pot. So, against those hands, I have no chance on this flop. However, there's another player in here and he could have KQ, AK, AQ. If so, I need to bet here to at least protect my hand from those holdings. Again, if I do that, then I wouldn't lose any more money AND I only have to fend off the draw (if I'm ahead) of the guy who is already all in.

Well, clearly, I missed that. And this is what happens.

*** TURN *** [6h 7s Js] [Qc]
Imperatorce has 15 seconds left to act
Imperatorce bets $30
RecessRampage folds
Imperatorce shows [9h Qh]
kdogvet shows [Ks Ah]

Now I have no choice but to fold when he bets. I had the better hand AND better position and somehow I let this happen.

*** RIVER *** [6h 7s Js Qc] [9s]
Imperatorce shows two pair, Queens and Nines
kdogvet shows Ace King high
Imperatorce wins the pot ($91.15) with two pair, Queens and Nines
kdogvet is sitting out

That's $90 that should be added to my stack but instead, because of my donkey play, I missed out on that. In this instance, I didn't just lose $30. Yeah, that's the actual hit to my bankroll. But the real hit was the $90 that shoulda been there. Again, money not won when you should is the same as money lost. You can't let opportunities like this get away from you.


Mike Maloney said...

I like these already, do more.

Matt said...

I agree with Mike...make more mistakes! That's what he's saying, right?